To find the best rate for automobile insurance in Connecticut you should become familiar with the coverages to know how much of each you need and what you might be able to add or remove to save your premiums
Liability: This mandatory portion of the policy covers your liability to others. In other words, it responds to cover the bodily or property damage to others as a result of your negligence or the negligence of someone driving your car (with your permission). The state requires a minimum limit of $20,000 bodily injury per person and $40,000 bodily injury per accident. Therefore if 3 people were injured in the accident each sustaining $20,000 in bodily injury, the policy will only pay $40,000 for that one accident. The limit for property damage under this coverage is $10,000.
These numbers may sound like a lot, but it is strongly recommended to increase this limit. Let’s face it, medical care costs are skyrocketing. The $20,000 per person limit can be reached easier today than it could have 20 years ago. Protect yourself by asking for quotes for additional limits.
Uninsured Motorist: This coverage will protect you, your passengers and relatives who live with you in the event you are in an accident caused by an uninsured motorist This coverage can be increased, and is recommended to do so. The minimum amount required by state law is $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident.
Collision coverage: Covers damage to your car as a result of a collision with another car, or object.
Comprehensive coverage: As it sounds, covers damage to your car by causes other than a collision. This is where coverage is provided in the event of theft, vandalism, colliding with an animal, and other sorts of damage.
This is by no means an exhaustive description of all coverages required on a Connecticut automobile policy, but when shopping for affordable rates, knowing what you are buying is key.